Her Mother’s Secret- Rosanna Ley

secret

Rosanna Ley has such a beautiful wrtiting style, that as soon as you open a book you know you are going to be transported into another beautiful world. You will be engrossed with the wonderfully descriptive setting and the intriguing characters and won’t want to put the book down until you have discovered more.
Collette has to return home when her mum’s health fails and she meets up with people and runs her mum’s shop. She has to face up to painful memories from the past and relationships need exploring.
I now want to visit Brittany because I feel that I can picture it in my mind so well. I loved every page of this book.

Advertisements

The Other Woman- Sandie Jones

other

A deliciously disturbing, compulsively readable debut domestic suspense–prepare to meet The Other Woman: there’s nothing she won’t do to keep you away from her son …

Emily thinks Adam’s perfect; the man she thought she’d never meet.

But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves.

Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever.

The Other Woman is an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between Emily, her boyfriend Adam, and his manipulative mother Pammie.

My Review
When Emily meets Adam and then gets to meet his mum, the alarm bells should have started ringing. Pammie really was a force to be reckoned with. She was awful to her behind her sons back and she would have made me run the other way!

You do wonder where this story is going to take you- as the first page gives you the idea that Pammie has a hidden agenda. We don’t know why or what she might be capable of. But she comes across as a very over protective momma bear who wants to keep her cubs unnaturally close.

Emily has a lovely family and a close group of friends who are there for her throughout the book.

Once I settled into the story I really couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I will look forward to reading more by this author.

Daisy’s Vintage Cornish Camper Van- Ali McNamara

van

Welcome to the gorgeous Cornish town of St Felix, where there’s magic in the air…
When Ana inherits a broken-down camper van from her best friend, she takes the chance for a quick trip to Cornwall – some sea air and fish and chips on the beach is just the tonic she needs.
But St Felix has bigger plans for Ana. She discovers a series of unsent postcards, dating back to the 1950s, hidden in the upholstery of the van. Ana knows that it’s a sign: she’ll make sure that the messages reach the person that they were meant for. And as the broken-down van is restored to gleaming health, so Ana begins to find her way back to happiness.

MY REVIEW
I loved this book. Ana is left a vintage camper van by her best friend. She travels down to St Felix and is disappointed to discover it’s in a terrible state.

I think camper vans have a magic all of their own- and this one is storing a secret supply of postcards which captivate Ana. She wants to return them to the original owner of the van and sets about trying to find ‘Lou’.

She meets two gorgeous sounding men (lucky girl- Malachi and Noah). Both men have an air of mystery around them- but are easy to talk to. Malachi is working on the camper van and Noah works in an antique shop. He’s keen to help her with the postcard adventure. I loved the friendship and romance that Ana finds in St Felix. It is a place that restores harmony to a troubled soul.

The cottage she manages to rent sounds absolutely stunning- perfect for stretching out on the balcony with something delicious from the local bakery and a lovely cup of coffee. I can smell the coffee beans!

I was so sorry to have to say goodbye to these characters and I’m hoping we’ll get to return to St Felix or accompany Ana on an adventure in her camper van.

A Mother’s Goodbye- Kate Hewitt

goodbye
My arms ache with the need to reach and hold my precious child, and then to never let go. But I can’t. I know I can’t.’

Heather is devastated. There’s no way she can keep her baby. She can barely pay the bills as it is. But when she meets Grace, a wealthy, single career woman, who wants a baby more than anything, Heather believes she has found the perfect adoptive mother.

As Grace and Heather’s lives become entwined, they are tested to breaking point, though neither can deny the other’s love for the child. But just when they think they are learning how to live with each other, they receive devastating news that turns their fragile world upside down.

Will either mother know what is the right thing to do for the child they both love?

An absolutely gripping, emotional drama with a tear-jerking twist. If you love Jodi Picoult, Kelly Rimmer or Diane Chamberlain, this will warm your heart, make you cry, and stay with you forever.

MY REVIEW

This book takes a real rollercoaster ride through your emotions. It deals with an adoption and how hard that is for both mothers. It gives you several things to think about and appreciate how hard this must be for all parties. Your heart breaks for Heather who is finding life a real financial struggle when she discovers she’s expecting another baby. She decides to go down the adoption route and we meet Grace who is a high flying exec. I wasn’t sure I’d have picked Grace if I’d been looking for a ‘forever mummy’- but it gives you lots of food for thought about the decisions that everyone made.

I had various feelings throughout the book where I wasn’t sure how I thought it would pan out and even which mum I would side with. I could feel the heartbreak and the difficulties each mum has.

I was totally gripped throughout the book.

The Cornish Village School- Breaking the Rules- Kitty Wilson

school
Rosy Winter is definitely not looking for love
Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the beautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.
In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.
This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael

My review
I quickly fell in love with the characters and the setting in this book. A book set in Cornwall is almost guaranteed to make my reading list- and this was an adorable story. Rosy is the local headteacher who is having to fight to save their village school. After a troubled youth she’s very wary around dating- but when Matt moves in next door the electric sparks between them. He is adorable- very friendly, very sexy and great with dogs and children!

I could just imagine the cottages and settling down in the evening with a nice glass of wine.

Matts sister was an amusing character- very fiery and entitled.

I loved the way that Matt’s gardening shapes the story and how he wants to help the school appeal. He really is a sweetheart!

The Bakery at Seashell Cove- Karen Clarke

cove

A warm welcome and delicious chocolate gateau are always on the menu at the Bakery at Seashell Cove – and this summer, romance is in the air…

Meg Larson thought she had everything she wanted: she works in the local bakery, she’s months away from marrying her high-school sweetheart, and home is beautiful, sunny Seashell Cove, where the sky is blue, the sea is turquoise and the sand is golden.

Except that the bakery is up for sale and her fiancé Sam’s more interested in bikes than their relationship. When Meg receives shocking news about her family, he’s on a cycling tour and ignoring her calls – and posting selfies on Facebook with a female cyclist he looks far too cosy with…

Luckily the bakery’s estate agent, Nathan, is understanding and funny, and as the summer goes on an unexpected friendship blossoms. When the bakery is given a second lease of life under a mysterious new owner, Meg realises a change might be exactly what she needs too.

Will Meg find the happy-ever-after she dreams of in Seashell Cove?

An uplifting, laugh-out-loud rom com that will make you dream of romantic days at the beach. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver.

My REVIEW

I absolutely loved this return to Seashell Cove- which sounds just the sort of place to spend a nice week by the sea surrounded by tempting cakes and bread for breakfast.
Meg has dreamt of making a success of the bakery that she used to work at before the owner died. She also has a wedding to plan to her childhood sweetheart, Sam. But Sam doesn’t seem to be as committed to their relationship as she’d like.

The characters are all wonderful, even those that you’d probably hope to avoid in real life. There are some lovely surprises along the way and we are willing Meg to get her dream fulfilled. The cakes made me feel really hungry and keen to make something hopefully just as delicious this weekend.

Meg has some soul searching to do and some tough decisions to make.

The Single Mum’s Picnic Club- Jennifer Joyce

picnic

‘A charming and delightful read!’
Pretty Little Book Reviews on The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Katie thought she had the perfect family life by the sea – until her husband left her for another woman, abandoning her and their two children! She knows it’s finally time to move on but she’s unsure where to begin…
Frankie is shocked when gorgeous dog-walker Alex asks her on a date! As a single mum with her own business she struggles to put herself first, but maybe she’s ready to follow her heart?
George is used to raising her son on her own – but now he’s at nursery, her life feels empty. So when she meets Katie and Frankie at the beach, she realises that her talent for rustling up delicious picnics could be the perfect distraction!
But of course, life isn’t always a beach and as secrets begin to surface the three women’s lives are about to be turned upside-down…
A cosy and charming romance set at the English seaside, perfect for fans of
Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

My review
Three single mums meet by chance and George who loves catering for people suggests that they have a picnic at her beach hut. The picnics sound wonderful- a bit different from my quick dash round the supermarket sandwich aisle before a day out! I do love the ideas of picnics and own more than one wicker hamper and this book has encouraged me to unearth one and plan a lovely picnic of our own.

As they are all lonely they take it it turns to provide a picnic- unfortunately the other mum’s are more like my attempt and they decide that George should take charge.

I love the friendships in the book and the way that they help each other through various challenges and disasters. I loved the descriptions of the places that they meet up, including the houses and the way the picnic club comes into being. I would absolutely love to live by the sea and be able to contact George to deliver my very own picnic along with gingham blankets and oodles of ginger beer like my very own Famous Five adventure.