The Café at Seashell Cove- Karen Clarke

Title: The Café at Seashell Cove

Author: Karen Clarke

Amazon/Apple Link: AMAZON:


Welcome to the Café at Seashell Cove, where you’ll find irresistible home-baked cakes, smiling friendly faces – and maybe even a second chance at love…

When Cassie Maitland needs a holiday from her glamorous but stressful job in event management, she escapes home to gorgeous Seashell Cove, where her family’s cosy café sits perched on the cliffs above sparkling waves and golden sand.

But a lot has changed while Cassie’s been away: her parents have transformed their tired café into a welcoming haven, her friends Meg and Tilly have whole new lives, and old flame Danny’s twinkling eyes and winning smile make Cassie feel even more flustered than they used to.

Keen to throw herself back into local life, Cassie starts to run themed events – including a not entirely successful cat-café day, complete with dozens of felines. Luckily Danny is always around to lend a helping hand, and Cassie soon begins to wonder if her life in London was really all she made it out to be…

Could a new start in Seashell Cove be exactly what Cassie needs?

A heart-warming and hilarious read about friendship, belonging and seaside living. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver.

I’m thrilled to be part of the blog tour for this wonderful book.
My review
Karen Clarke has such a lovely writing style. You are quickly drawn into the story, meeting the characters and the setting and immediately feeling at home.

Cassie has left her high flying job as an event planner and come home to lick her wounds. She doesn’t tell her family that she was fired- or that it wasn’t the dream job she suggested it was.

She meets up with old friends and soon feels the comfortable draw of her hometown. She wants to make a mark on her family café- but are her parents really keen on her plans?! She has a few events planned and the ‘cat cafe’ has such potential for a disaster zone but sounded so wonderful.

She also gets drawn back into a childhood hobby and lets that be her comfort zone. I just loved the sound of the café and would be so keen to visit and I would be really tempted by the ‘event’s’.

It has such a lovely family feel- she is drawn back into the heart of the family and along with her brother try to make sure everyone is happy- including nan, who is a fantastic character.

There is a romance in the air and I was really rooting for Danny- the golden boy!

I have loved all the Karen Clarke books that I have read and will be keen to read her next release.

Author Bio

Karen Clarke writes romantic comedy novels. Her BEACHSIDE series is set in the fictional seaside town of Shipley and features recurring characters, but each book can be read as a standalone. She is currently working on a new, three-book series set in Devon- the first, The Café at Seashell Cove is out March 15th 2018.

Karen has also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she’s not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women’s magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection ‘BEHIND CLOSED DOORS…and other Tales with a Twist’

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Author Social Media Links:


Sunshine at the Comfort Food café- Debbie Johnson

I absolutely loved the return to the Comfort food, catching up with all the characters and falling in love with new ones. Willow features in this book. She is looking after her mum and working as a waitress at the café alongside her cleaning job. She takes on a cleaning job at Briarwood, The House on the Hill where her mum worked for a while. She meets Tom, who has just bought the house after spending time in care there as a child.

They are both dealing with troubling issues- but the spark of romance is there- and he sounds just lovely!

I love the whole cast of characters coming together for each other , a real sense of community. The café sounds like the sort of place you could spend many hours enjoying a cuppa and a delicious cake whilst overlooking the ocean.

At times I really could not put the book down- wanting to see that everyone was ok! Or enjoying the plans for Edie’s birthday. I can’t wait to see where we go next with this lovely series.

Love among the treetops- Catherine Ferguson


Twilight has abandoned her cookery classes to try and save her family home, whilst her dad is undergoing experimental treatment. She is determined to make a success of Twilights café. She hasn’t reckoned on her old school enemy opening up a rival café in the same week.

Despite Twilight sounding like the most amazing cook and the cakes divine, her arch enemy has hooked customers offering an usp, healthy, clean eating. She’s also getting the whole village involved with a fitness campaign.

You can see just how nasty Lucy must have been as a child- and the effects that still has on Twilights life.
It’s great to see the support she has around her- her friend Paloma sounds wonderful and in my head I was picturing Paloma Faith bounding along and making me smile!

Lucy has a childhood treehouse , which is still her safe haven and it sounded like the stuff of dreams. I can just imagine climbing up there as a child with my copy of The Magic Faraway Tree and just losing myself for the day. The treehouse plays a pretty important part in the story- and sounds so magical. It would certainly have me travelling miles!

There is a lovely village feel to the book, the locals all rally around Twilight and will her on, and she has some lovely support from unexpected quarters. She also has the hint of romance in the air. The characters are all wonderfully drawn- some more evil than others!

It’s a lovely feelgood book- and you’d love to actually be able to visit and experience the treehouse for yourself.

One Cornish Summer- Liz Fenwick

summerLiz Fenwick creates such wonderful imagery in her books that you are instantly transported to the sights and sounds of the wonderful Cornish setting. Helwyn House becomes another character and I am now desperate to visit Godolphin this summer. You can feel the floorboards creaking and the air of mystery as it tries to conceal its secrets.
Lucy has to go back to Cornwall when they discover that Hebe, her aunt, is about to bid on Helwyn House when it comes up for auction, despite its rundown condition. Lucy is escaping a bad relationship and Hebe is suffering from early onset dementia and is escaping back to Cornwall to try and protect those she loves and to complete her life work before she becomes unable. Lucy notices her aunt is struggling but is unaware. Hebe asks her niece to take over project managing the work on the house and although she has bad memories of the house she loves her aunt enough to stay to help.
Parts are so poignant that you get totally wrapped up in their emotions, imaging just how difficult this situation would be for any family. One of my uncles has alzheimers and has good days where he knows us all, but just as often confused days where he struggles to bring names to mind.
I love Cornwall- so any book set there is bound to hit my reading list. But I can’t wait for the next Liz Fenwick book and eagerly read each one. They make great gifts for my mum- who instilled my love of Cornwall and we still enjoy family holidays there.
The relationships are heartwarming and the strained family dynamics ring true.

Amazon here

The Little Wedding Island- Jaimie Admans


This cover draws you to the book which promises a lovely romantic read set on the most beautiful sounding Eidelweiss Island. I wanted to go and attend a wedding there!

Bonnie is a journalist for a wedding magazine and is a romantic at heart- she wants everyone to get their happy ever after. She gets into an online spat with a blogger journalist from a rival magazine who is completely jaded with weddings. They find themselves sent to investigate the wedding island by their respective magazines and have to overcome the islanders opposition to journalists. There is a lovely romantic feel surrounding the book, some amazing characters including little Puffin and the setting made me desperate to visit. I loved Rohans brusque, acerbic exterior covering a warm hearted man with a painful past.

I wasn’t sure about the vicar and wouldn’t surprised to read a side story about him! The rest of the islanders were a wonderful set of characters with their very own bush telegraph and an antennae for love.

Finding Dreams- Lauren Westwood

When Lizzie loses her husband she discovers that the life she thought she had is all an illusion and she is in danger of losing everything. When she receives a letter through the door, maybe her life is about to change for the better.

She decides to allow a film company to use her beautiful house for their latest film and then her life is a whirl of meeting the writer, directors and actors and the promise of a romance is in the air.

The house itself was in need of some tender loving care and I loved the fact that she was keen for her house to be given a blank canvas- so that she then had the chance to make a fresh start for her family.

I loved all the characters- especially her mother-in-law who turns up in a huge silver caravan with her second husband and actually becomes a huge support to Lizzie. She’s a bit of a free spirit with a heart of gold.

The history of the house is linked with the people connected with the film and little threads of the past reveal themselves and you wonder what else will become part of the story.

I fell in love with the house- although the idea of letting my home out to a film crew (as if that would ever happen!) doesn’t appeal at al!

The Pact


This is a psychological thriller about the dangers of social media. Two sisters had a troubled childhood and are hiding secrets- but their past has a heavy influence on their present day life. Toni is really strict with her daughter Rosie and the book opens with a mystery about what has happened to her.
Rosie is a typical teenager and there is danger around every corner because she’s led such a sheltered life.
You are wondering throughout the book what secrets will come tumbling out of the cupboard and what will happen to the characters. You won’t want to leave them alone- having to read until you find out what happens next.