A Mother’s Goodbye- Kate Hewitt

goodbye
My arms ache with the need to reach and hold my precious child, and then to never let go. But I can’t. I know I can’t.’

Heather is devastated. There’s no way she can keep her baby. She can barely pay the bills as it is. But when she meets Grace, a wealthy, single career woman, who wants a baby more than anything, Heather believes she has found the perfect adoptive mother.

As Grace and Heather’s lives become entwined, they are tested to breaking point, though neither can deny the other’s love for the child. But just when they think they are learning how to live with each other, they receive devastating news that turns their fragile world upside down.

Will either mother know what is the right thing to do for the child they both love?

An absolutely gripping, emotional drama with a tear-jerking twist. If you love Jodi Picoult, Kelly Rimmer or Diane Chamberlain, this will warm your heart, make you cry, and stay with you forever.

MY REVIEW

This book takes a real rollercoaster ride through your emotions. It deals with an adoption and how hard that is for both mothers. It gives you several things to think about and appreciate how hard this must be for all parties. Your heart breaks for Heather who is finding life a real financial struggle when she discovers she’s expecting another baby. She decides to go down the adoption route and we meet Grace who is a high flying exec. I wasn’t sure I’d have picked Grace if I’d been looking for a ‘forever mummy’- but it gives you lots of food for thought about the decisions that everyone made.

I had various feelings throughout the book where I wasn’t sure how I thought it would pan out and even which mum I would side with. I could feel the heartbreak and the difficulties each mum has.

I was totally gripped throughout the book.

Advertisements

The Cornish Village School- Breaking the Rules- Kitty Wilson

school
Rosy Winter is definitely not looking for love
Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the beautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.
In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.
This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael

My review
I quickly fell in love with the characters and the setting in this book. A book set in Cornwall is almost guaranteed to make my reading list- and this was an adorable story. Rosy is the local headteacher who is having to fight to save their village school. After a troubled youth she’s very wary around dating- but when Matt moves in next door the electric sparks between them. He is adorable- very friendly, very sexy and great with dogs and children!

I could just imagine the cottages and settling down in the evening with a nice glass of wine.

Matts sister was an amusing character- very fiery and entitled.

I loved the way that Matt’s gardening shapes the story and how he wants to help the school appeal. He really is a sweetheart!

The Bakery at Seashell Cove- Karen Clarke

cove

A warm welcome and delicious chocolate gateau are always on the menu at the Bakery at Seashell Cove – and this summer, romance is in the air…

Meg Larson thought she had everything she wanted: she works in the local bakery, she’s months away from marrying her high-school sweetheart, and home is beautiful, sunny Seashell Cove, where the sky is blue, the sea is turquoise and the sand is golden.

Except that the bakery is up for sale and her fiancé Sam’s more interested in bikes than their relationship. When Meg receives shocking news about her family, he’s on a cycling tour and ignoring her calls – and posting selfies on Facebook with a female cyclist he looks far too cosy with…

Luckily the bakery’s estate agent, Nathan, is understanding and funny, and as the summer goes on an unexpected friendship blossoms. When the bakery is given a second lease of life under a mysterious new owner, Meg realises a change might be exactly what she needs too.

Will Meg find the happy-ever-after she dreams of in Seashell Cove?

An uplifting, laugh-out-loud rom com that will make you dream of romantic days at the beach. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver.

My REVIEW

I absolutely loved this return to Seashell Cove- which sounds just the sort of place to spend a nice week by the sea surrounded by tempting cakes and bread for breakfast.
Meg has dreamt of making a success of the bakery that she used to work at before the owner died. She also has a wedding to plan to her childhood sweetheart, Sam. But Sam doesn’t seem to be as committed to their relationship as she’d like.

The characters are all wonderful, even those that you’d probably hope to avoid in real life. There are some lovely surprises along the way and we are willing Meg to get her dream fulfilled. The cakes made me feel really hungry and keen to make something hopefully just as delicious this weekend.

Meg has some soul searching to do and some tough decisions to make.

The Single Mum’s Picnic Club- Jennifer Joyce

picnic

‘A charming and delightful read!’
Pretty Little Book Reviews on The Little Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Katie thought she had the perfect family life by the sea – until her husband left her for another woman, abandoning her and their two children! She knows it’s finally time to move on but she’s unsure where to begin…
Frankie is shocked when gorgeous dog-walker Alex asks her on a date! As a single mum with her own business she struggles to put herself first, but maybe she’s ready to follow her heart?
George is used to raising her son on her own – but now he’s at nursery, her life feels empty. So when she meets Katie and Frankie at the beach, she realises that her talent for rustling up delicious picnics could be the perfect distraction!
But of course, life isn’t always a beach and as secrets begin to surface the three women’s lives are about to be turned upside-down…
A cosy and charming romance set at the English seaside, perfect for fans of
Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

My review
Three single mums meet by chance and George who loves catering for people suggests that they have a picnic at her beach hut. The picnics sound wonderful- a bit different from my quick dash round the supermarket sandwich aisle before a day out! I do love the ideas of picnics and own more than one wicker hamper and this book has encouraged me to unearth one and plan a lovely picnic of our own.

As they are all lonely they take it it turns to provide a picnic- unfortunately the other mum’s are more like my attempt and they decide that George should take charge.

I love the friendships in the book and the way that they help each other through various challenges and disasters. I loved the descriptions of the places that they meet up, including the houses and the way the picnic club comes into being. I would absolutely love to live by the sea and be able to contact George to deliver my very own picnic along with gingham blankets and oodles of ginger beer like my very own Famous Five adventure.

When Archie Met Rosie- Lynda Renham

rosie

An Unexpected Love Story.

Rosie Foster has two dreams. The first is to move off the Tradmore Estate, and the second is to see Paris. Archie wants for nothing. He has his five-bedroom house but no one to share it with now that his beloved wife, Cath, has died. And then … Holly has a disastrous night out and, against all the odds, Archie meets Rosie.

A funny, sad and poignant tale of how love can be found in the strangest of places.

My review
This was such a lovely book. Rosie dreams of a better life away from the estate she lives on and she would love to see Paris one day. Both dreams seem unattainable.

Archie is an older gentleman who is missing his late wife and struggling with a stay with his son and his family.

After a couple of events at the start of the book Rosie’s life is shaken up. She starts to clean for Archie and they get on really well.

There is humour, heartbreak, family dynamics and great friendships run throughout the book. A lot of the characters have some soul searching to do and are able to start accepting that life can take unexpected turns and that it is possible to adapt and allow yourself to take an unexpected path into the future.

Eve of Man- Tom and Giovanna Fletcher

eve
AMAZON-AGAINST ALL ODDS, SHE SURVIVED.
THE FIRST GIRL BORN IN FIFTY YEARS.
THEY CALLED HER EVE . . .

All her life Eve has been kept away from the opposite sex. Kept from the truth of her past.

But at sixteen it’s time for Eve to face her destiny. Three potential males have been selected for her. The future of humanity is in her hands. She’s always accepted her fate.

Until she meets Bram.

Eve wants control over her life. She wants freedom.

But how do you choose between love and the future of the human race?

EVE OF MAN is the first in an explosive new trilogy by bestselling authors Giovanna & Tom Fletcher

Although dystopian is not my usual choice of genre- this one intrigued me. Eve is the first girl born in 50 years- and has been taken into a sci-fi dome to ensure that mankind gets the best chance of surviving.
She has a virtual world created for her along with a holographic best friend. We find out about the history of the centre and the people who work there.
We feel for Eve as she comes to realise that her future has been mapped out for her and she doesn’t have much say in what happens next.
I found the whole concept fascinating and now can’t wait to read the remaining 2 books in the series.

Summer at the Little Cottage on the Hill- Emma Davies

hill1

I absolutely loved the return to Joy Acres farm and the new cottages. Isobel has rented the first cottage. She is a very talented violinist who has booked a cottage to complete a new piece of music. We gradually hear more about her and what makes her so guarded. Tom, the thatcher, shows a softer side as he gets lost in the music whilst he is working.
I just love the characters- we meet up with our long lost friends and can imagine sitting in the beautiful garden sharing meals with everyone. It sounds so blissful. They are busy getting Thatcher’s cottage ready and I really can’t wait to read more in the next book.
The book is full of a gentle romance, a thawing of the ice queen and the most wonderful group of friends working together to create a community that feels so real, you are reaching to visit the website and book a weeks break.
I have always enjoyed Emma Davies books- this series has to be my favourite so far. I remember feeling so excited when she said that there would be follow on books! The covers are so inviting.