The Little Cottage in the Country- Lottie Phillips

little

This was such a lovely, fun read. It’s full of lots of amusing scenes as Anna tries to settle into countrylife. The cottage her aunt left her doesn’t turn out to be quite the chocolate box dream that she imagined. Then she finds her aunt and best friend decamp to the country with her.

One of the first amusing scenes is a speed dating event. After discovering that they are in the wrong village , one of the locals rounds up a bunch of eligible men. You can just imagine the cringe factor! She also gets caught out submitting a shop bought cake to the cake stall competition.Can life get any worse for Anna?!

She’s a journalist and is having to submit a weekly diary from the country aided by her best friend as the photographer.

We have romance, friendships, snobby school gate mummies and delightful children.

The cover is so gorgeous that it would immediately attract me to pick this one up and I am so grateful to have received a copy from Net Galley.

The Once in a Blue Moon Guesthouse- Cressida McLaughlin

moonblue

This was such a lovely book. I have really enjoyed Cressida McLaughlin’s previous books and was lucky enough to attend an author event that she answered questions about her writing. You are guaranteed to enjoy a nice happy read and able to lose yourself completely within the pages. I’m glad that I was able to read this one as a complete book- as I can be impatient to wait for the next episode when reading them as the separate books.

Robin had come back to help run her parents guesthouse and when they reveal plans to retire abroad she relishes taking on a complete overhaul of the guesthouse. She creates themed rooms that sound absolutely wonderful- with such attention to detail. I would love to stay in one of the rooms.

One night just after she reopens a man appears on the doorstep asking to rent a room because the house next door, which belonged to his aunt wasn’t habitable. Will is a wonderful character and the sparks fly between them. They have a great friendship teetering on a romance. Certain events get i the way and you are rooting for them to overcome the difficulties.

The characters in Campion Bay are delightful and you really feel as though you’ve got to know them. They are fully supportive of Robin’s new venture. Her best friends daughter helps out at breakfast time and she’s a lovely girl.

Robin was previously an event planner for specialist days that were once in a blue moon experiences and she brings her skills to her new venture but you also get the hint that she wants to make all of her guests have a taste of the same magical spell she weaves. She goes that extra mile to make everlasting memories for everyone.

I was so sad to get to the end of the book and would love another series in Campion Bay one day- as I have plans for Will’s house!!!!!!!!!!

The Orphan of India- Sharon Maas

orphan

Amazon-

A lost child. A childless couple. Can they save each other?

Living on the streets of Bombay, Jyothi has no-one to turn to after her mother is involved in a tragic accident.

Monika and Jack Kingsley are desperate for a child of their own. On a trip to India, they fall in love with Jyothi and decide to adopt the orphan child.

The new family return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt. As Monika and Jack’s relationship fractures, Jyothi is more alone than ever and music becomes her solace. But even when her extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, Jyothi still doesn’t feel like she belongs.

Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront her past…

The Orphan of India is an utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.
‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors … Evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva
‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine
My review

Sharon Maas has such a beautiful writing style. She tackles difficult subjects and manages to transport you right into the middle of a different culture and you feel as though you can touch and feel the atmosphere around you.

Monika and Jack are desperate for a family and when they meet Jyothi in the streets of Bombay- they want to offer her a better lifestyle. Things don’t go smoothly and the dream of a happy little family unit have to be adjusted. Jyothi finds it difficult to adjust to life in Britain.

There are some very touching breakthroughs and the books takes us through tragedies, betrayal, friendships, family relationships and a profound love of music.

Music touches Jyothi in a way nothing else can and Monika is keen to nurture this.

It really draws you in and you don’t want to put the book down. I had my kindle almost attached to my nose on the bus! You feel for Jyothi and long for her to be happy- after the turmoil she’s gone through in her little life.

I automatically reach for each Sharon Maas book that I see- as I just love the way that you lose yourself completely in the story and finish feeling that you have been along on the journey with the characters.

You can purchase the book here on Amazon

Sharon Maas

sharon

 

Sharon Maas was born in Georgetown, Guyana in 1951, and spent many childhood hours either curled up behind a novel or writing her own adventure stories. Sometimes she had adventures of her own, and found fifteen minutes of Guyanese fame for salvaging an old horse-drawn coach from a funeral parlor, fixing it up, painting it bright blue, and tearing around Georgetown with all her teenage friends. The coach ended up in a ditch, but thankfully neither teens nor horse were injured.

Boarding school in England tamed her somewhat; but after a few years as a reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown she plunged off to discover South America by the seat of her pants. She ended up in a Colombian jail, and that’s a story for another day…

Sharon has lived in an Ashram in India and as a German Hausfrau–the latter giving her the time and the motivation to finally start writing seriously. Her first novel, Of Marriageable Age, was published by HarperCollins, London, in 1999 and reprinted as a digital edition in 2014. After working as a social worker in a German hospital she finally retired and now has time for her favourite pastimes: reading, writing, and travelling.

Blood Sisters- Jane Corry

blood1

A real page turner that keeps you guessing throughout the book told from the perspective of both sisters- Kitty and Alison. The characters are well drawn and if not likeable are very interesting. Kitty is living in a care home and Alison takes a job working in a prison.

The story starts with 2 sisters and a best friend on their way to school. One dies, one is severly injured and one is unhurt. We are desperate to find out what happened to the girls.

You won’t want to put this book down. I love psychological thrillers and I will be really keen to read more by Jane Corry. I really enjoyed her writing stye and the book keeps you in a state of suspense throughout.

The little bed and breakfast by the sea- Jennifer Joyce

sea

This was such a charming, heart warming book set in a bed and breakfast by the sea. You feel wrapped within a warm and cosy blanket enjoying the friendships and romances in the beautiful setting of Clifton on Sea whilst enjoying a cup of tea and enjoying a plate of cookies!

Mae runs a lovely bed and breakfast by the sea where she rents 2 rooms out in her house. She also has to work shifts in the local pub to help make ends meet. She has a 4 year old daughter and keeps rebuffing the advances of the local vet.

Willow runs a local shop which upcycles items into must have home decor- I loved the commissions she had throughout the book. She is doing up her ‘forever house’ with her husband Ethan. It has turned into a bit of a money pit leaving them with financial worries and stress. When a potentially severe problem turns up she manages to book into Mae’s B&B for a coupe of weeks.

Melody is escaping her everyday life and travelling around the coast to try and take that one special shot for a photography competition. She’s not sure of her ability but is desperate to take her hobby further. She meets Hugo who runs an ice cream van and sees past his brash exterior.

The girls develop a lovely friendship whilst they are sharing the house and try to encourage each other to take a chance on love with the men who are trying to get close to them! They share some of the issues troubling them.

 

Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream- Sue Watson

curves

You are absolutely guaranteed a giggle with Sue Watson’s books and the early scenes in the gym make you laugh out loud and made me think that’s exactly how I’d be if I was brave enough to get through the gym door.
Dani who helps run the ice cream cafe is a curvy lady who has tried every diet going over the years. She knows the calorie content of everything she eats- but it just tastes sooo delicious! Working in the cafe isn’t ideal for her self control either! She has to sample all the new recipes!
Her friend persuades her that she needs to start exercising and she braves the gym and meets Chris. He’s the typical gym bunny- but he offers to become her personal trainer to help her get fit.She evens finds a breakfast run along the beach enjoyable.
I love the characters and the setting. You can feel the sparks between them- but neither seems to recognise the signs. Dani’s goal is her 40th birthday party and the plans sound amazing and you can just imagine the cafe all decorated and the cake.
It’s a really heartwarming book and I can’t wait to see what the future holds with the cafe characters.

Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove- Sarah Bennett

bells

I loved the first book in the Butterfly Cove series and was keen to read the second instalment.

Kiki finally decides to split from her husband and takes her children to her sisters bed and breakfast in Butterfly Cove. Aaron next door offers to let them share his house and they soon settle into a lovely daily routine.

Mia and Daniel’s wedding plans are taking pace and something to look forward to.

I love Sarah Bennetts characters- you quickly fall in love with them and will them to make the right decisions. The setting is so beautiful aswell. You can imagine living near them and getting to know everyone really well. I am now really looking forward to the next book in the series.