The Orphan of India- Sharon Maas

orphan

Amazon-

A lost child. A childless couple. Can they save each other?

Living on the streets of Bombay, Jyothi has no-one to turn to after her mother is involved in a tragic accident.

Monika and Jack Kingsley are desperate for a child of their own. On a trip to India, they fall in love with Jyothi and decide to adopt the orphan child.

The new family return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt. As Monika and Jack’s relationship fractures, Jyothi is more alone than ever and music becomes her solace. But even when her extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, Jyothi still doesn’t feel like she belongs.

Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront her past…

The Orphan of India is an utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.
‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors … Evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva
‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine
My review

Sharon Maas has such a beautiful writing style. She tackles difficult subjects and manages to transport you right into the middle of a different culture and you feel as though you can touch and feel the atmosphere around you.

Monika and Jack are desperate for a family and when they meet Jyothi in the streets of Bombay- they want to offer her a better lifestyle. Things don’t go smoothly and the dream of a happy little family unit have to be adjusted. Jyothi finds it difficult to adjust to life in Britain.

There are some very touching breakthroughs and the books takes us through tragedies, betrayal, friendships, family relationships and a profound love of music.

Music touches Jyothi in a way nothing else can and Monika is keen to nurture this.

It really draws you in and you don’t want to put the book down. I had my kindle almost attached to my nose on the bus! You feel for Jyothi and long for her to be happy- after the turmoil she’s gone through in her little life.

I automatically reach for each Sharon Maas book that I see- as I just love the way that you lose yourself completely in the story and finish feeling that you have been along on the journey with the characters.

You can purchase the book here on Amazon

Sharon Maas

sharon

 

Sharon Maas was born in Georgetown, Guyana in 1951, and spent many childhood hours either curled up behind a novel or writing her own adventure stories. Sometimes she had adventures of her own, and found fifteen minutes of Guyanese fame for salvaging an old horse-drawn coach from a funeral parlor, fixing it up, painting it bright blue, and tearing around Georgetown with all her teenage friends. The coach ended up in a ditch, but thankfully neither teens nor horse were injured.

Boarding school in England tamed her somewhat; but after a few years as a reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown she plunged off to discover South America by the seat of her pants. She ended up in a Colombian jail, and that’s a story for another day…

Sharon has lived in an Ashram in India and as a German Hausfrau–the latter giving her the time and the motivation to finally start writing seriously. Her first novel, Of Marriageable Age, was published by HarperCollins, London, in 1999 and reprinted as a digital edition in 2014. After working as a social worker in a German hospital she finally retired and now has time for her favourite pastimes: reading, writing, and travelling.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s