One Endless Summer- Laurie Ellingham

summer

I loved this book. I knew it was going to be a tear jerker based on the blurb- but there is so much more to the story. It’s in turn humourous and heartbreaking. Three friends decide to go travelling when Lizzie’s brain tumour has proved resistant to the latest round of treatment. She wants to live a little and they plan the most wonderful 90 days touring three continents.

My niece is currently touring India with an organised tour for youngsters and it had that feel about it. I have loved seeing my nieces posts on instagram and facebook- and have felt a little of the excitement yet nerves of the adventure through her eyes. The book gave me the same sense of being taken along for a wonderful adventure with three friends.

They are all keeping secrets from each other- we never know everything about those we love.

I love sunrises and sunsets – and they feature in the book and Lizzie’s explanation of why they are important for her to savour will stay with me a long while.

I loved the friendship and romance throughout the book- and the fact that it kept me drawn deep within the pages, lost in my own dreams of travelling the world.

Leave a Reply

