Blog Tour for How to mend a Broken Heart-Anna Mansell

heart

HOW TO MEND A BROKEN HEART by Anna Mansell
 
Hello? Rhys Woods? I have a patient here I think you know. Yours is the only number in her diary…

When Rhys is called to the hospital to meet Susan, a woman he barely knows, he is compelled to help her. Still grieving the loss of his brother months earlier, Rhys knows all too well the feeling of loneliness.

There are years between them, but Rhys is the only person Susan will respond to, and when she asks him to bring her her most treasured possession, a book of fairytales, he is intrigued.

Hidden in the book is a clue to Susan’s past, and the painful regrets she carries with her. And as Rhys starts to unearth Susan’s secrets, he finds that his own grief begins to heal too…

Together, Susan and Rhys must learn to live again. Can they help each other to find happiness and finally mend their broken hearts?

How to Mend a Broken Heart is a heart-wrenching and absorbing story about second chances, forgiveness, and making every second count, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson.
 
 
heart1
I’m really pleased to be part of the Blog Tour for How to Mend a Broken Heart by Anna Mansell.

The cover instantly drew me to this book- so pretty. This is a debut novel by Anna Mansell and I will definitely be keen to read more by this author.

We meet the three main characters early on and they have a tenuous connection and are all suffering some degree of heartbreak. Kat recently broke up with her long term boyfriend, Rhys lost his brother to suicide and Susan is in hospital refusing to speak .

When Kat finds Rhys telephone number is Susan’s handbag the connection between the three characters starts. He was her plumber but when he gets the phonecall, thinks that the lady in hospital might be his mum and rushes to see her.

When he realises that he vaguely remembers her he then feels a sense of responsibility that seems unusual and his feelings are triggered by the fact that she seems so vulnerable and alone. There are some touching scenes when he visits.

We hear from each of the three characters point of view which gives us a greater insight into how they all feel and more about their history.

With a daughter who has selective mutism I felt drawn to the character of Susan and we want to learn more about why she’s refusing to speak and what has happened to her.

I loved the way that the characters developed as the relationship between them continued. I’ll admit that this wasn’t the type of book I was expecting from the cover- but I was instantly drawn into its pages and couldn’t put it down until I discovered what happened to them all.

With many thanks to Bookoutre and Net Galley for an Arc of this book which I voluntarily read.

ANNA MANSELL

anna-mansell

Anna spent almost twenty years trying to shoehorn writing in to her career as a marketing manager for dance and theatre companies. Eventually, she did what you are not remotely supposed to do and walked away from an excellent job in order to try and become a published author. Three years, lots of tears and some slightly hairy bank balances later, she met Kirsty Greenwood and the rest, as they say, is history. Anna lives in Cornwall with her husband and two kids. She feels very fortunate!
 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s