The Lost Daughter of Liverpool-Pam Howes

liverpool

the-lost-daughter-of-liverpool-blog-tour

Can she save herself, her marriage – and her daughter?


It’s 1946 and the war is over. In Liverpool, the blackout blinds may be coming down, but one family is about to face devastating misfortune…

Dora Evans is finally marrying the love of her life, Joe Rodgers, and her dreams of opening a dressmaking business look as if they might come true. With twin daughters on the way, Dora has everything she’s ever wanted. 

But then tragedy strikes: one of Dora’s babies dies in infancy, and a catastrophic fire changes their lives forever. Dora is consumed with grief, struggling to get through each day and Joe is suddenly distant, finding solace in his colleague, Ivy

With Ivy watching and scheming, and Dora battling against her own demons, can she keep her family together?

The Lost Daughter of Liverpool is a heartbreaking and gripping story of love, loss and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Kitty Neale. Discover Pam’s new series, The Mersey Trilogy, today.


What everyone’s saying about The Lost Daughter of Liverpool:

Absolute belter of a story!! Chelle’s Book Reviews

I loved this book! … have a supply of tissues ready … a beautifully written book that kept me reading until the early hours. I just didn’t want it to end.” 5* Stardust Book Reviews

a new favourite saga writer to add to my list.” 5* Bookworms & Shutterbugs

I love this book so much … [it will] keep you gasping for more … Oh my dayz.” 5* Read Along With Sue Ward

one of the best family sagas I’ve read … A wonderful, emotional roller coaster of a read, highly recommended … tissues are essential!” Brook Cottage Books

a deeply moving story…I found myself gasping out loud … [it] brought me close to tears … I found The Lost Daughter of Liverpool increasingly hard to put down … I will certainly be back for part two … definitely one to watch out for.” Em the Bookworm

“The story is brilliant … Once I started this book, I just couldn’t wait for every chance I got to read it.” 4* I Love Reading

What a beautiful book! Brilliantly written, this warm-hearted, evocative tale was amazing from start to finish.” 5 * Renita D’Silva

Oh wow absolutely superb. Read it in under two days. Loved everything about this book. A fantastic story and I’m so excited for the next one in this trilogy.” Goodreads Reviewer

“The storyline was brilliant and had me hooked from the first chapter, really looking forward to reading the follow up” 5* Goodreads Reviewer

“… Just fantastic. Being a big fan of family saga’s, this book didn’t disappoint, it had it all. Love, heartbreak, obsession, loss and hope. Fantastic real characters that made me feel for each one of them. I can highly recommend this page turning saga…” Goodreads Reviewer

This was an excellent novel. With brilliant main characters and a wonderful plot, this book is a real page turner. I would highly recommend this book.” Goodreads Reviewer

 

ABOUT PAM HOWES

Pam is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

You can find Pam on Twitter at https://twitter.com/PamHowes1

You can find Pam on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Pam-Howes-Author-260328010709267/?fref=ts

 

Link to purchase

pam

pam

Pam Howes

My thoughts

I loved the first part of The Mersey Trilogy and the chance to find a new favourite saga writer to add to my list. This is one of my favourite eras for sagas- post war, and we are treated to rationing and making wedding dresses and dances as part of the setting in Liverpool.

Dora is marrying the love of her life and looking forward to her happy ever after- but life has some nasty twists in store for the young couple. Life will never be as carefree for them again.

I loved the romance throughout the book, the friendships and the snippets of family life and hardship. The characters are wonderful- you feel as though you know them well by the end of the book . I can’t wait to catch up with them in the next book in the series.

With many thanks to Net Galley and Bookoutre for a review copy.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Lost Daughter of Liverpool-Pam Howes

  1. Hi Kim,

    Pam Howes is not a name I have come across before, although ‘The Lost Daughter Of Liverpool’ sounds like just the book for me, when I am in the mood for some modern historical fiction.

    I’m not sure that I could read some of the other books the author has written, but if there are more books to come in this series, I shall be pleased.

    Just so long as each book works as a stand alone and the ending of this story isn’t of the ‘To Be Continued’ variety!

    Nice review as your blog tour post 🙂

    Yvonne

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s