How to Find Love in a Bookshop- Veronica Henry

ver

BOOK DETAILS

Nightingale Books, nestled on the high street in the idyllic Cotswold town of Peasebrook, is a dream come true for booklovers.

But owner Emilia Nightingale is struggling to keep the shop open. The temptation to sell up is proving enormous – but what about the promise she made to her father? Not to mention the loyalty she owes to her customers.
Sarah Basildon, owner of stately pile Peasebrook Manor, has used the book shop as an escape from all her problems in the past few years. But is there more to her visits than meets the eye?

Since messing up his marriage, Jackson asks Emilia for advice on books to read to the son he misses so much. But Jackson has a secret, and is not all he seems…

And there’s Thomasina, painfully shy, who runs a pop-up restaurant from her tiny cottage. She has a huge crush on a man she met and then lost in the cookery section, somewhere between Auguste Escoffier and Marco Pierre White. Can she find the courage to admit her true feelings?

How to Find Love in a Book Shop is the delightful story of Emilia’s fight to keep her book shop alive, the customers whose lives she has touched – and the books they all love.

vic3

My vision of the bookshop- a photo I’d pinned on Pinterest.

My Thoughts

This really is the perfect book to buy as a present for the booklover in your life. From the opening pages the pure ‘bookiness’ draws you into the magical world most booklovers would love to be a part of. You can imagine Nightingales books and Julius passion for bringing the perfect book to each customer and how the shop really was a way of life for him.

I loved this quote ” After all, a town without a bookshop was a town without a heart”- and Jules really did provide the heart for Peasebrook in the Cotswolds when he chose to open his shop there.

Emilia inherits the bookshop and all it’s worries- and desperately tries to turn it around. I loved the staff she worked with throwing themselves into new roles to increase the profile of the shop.

The characters are so heartwarming that you’d love to give them a hug and settle down for a coffee and a piece of delicious cake in the cafe and then choose the perfect book to take home with you. Can you guess that I really want to move to Peasbrook and meet everyone?

The manor house also sounds beautiful and the characters there not without their share of heartbreak. It has ‘a gift shop selling beautiful things you didn’t need but somehow desperately wanted’. Just my sort of shop!

I was drawn into this book from the very beginning and could feel it’s lovely warmth wrapped round me as I lost myself for hours amongst it’s pages. It has everything- BOOKS, a wonderfully interesting cast of characters, a wedding to plan for, a stately home, secrets and romance  and hope for the future. I literally could not put this book down – finishing it in the early hours of the morning. I was so sorry to read the last page but it has left me with so many gorgeous ‘book memories’ and images.

I’ve been a huge fan of Veronica Henry since I bought a copy of The Beach Hut and have devoured every book since. This is my favourite so far- and her books have joined my ‘favourites’ shelf on the bookshelf where a ‘real’ copy joins friends after I’ve discovered them on my kindle. The books I’d recommend to a friend all on one bookcase!

vic1

The last pages left me with this sort of image in my head and I would love to go back to Nightingales bookstore!

With many thanks to Orion and Net Galley for an ARC of this book.

You can buy a copy here.

Veronica Henry’s Goodread page

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to Find Love in a Bookshop- Veronica Henry

Leave a Reply

