Counting Chimneys-Sandy Taylor

counting

Brighton 1969: Dottie Perks steps off the train and breathes in the sea air, the smell of fish and chips, and the precious childhood memories of a friend and place she’ll never forget.

Dottie Perks has forged a new life for herself in London, a new job and sweet boyfriend Joe to keep her warm at night. She’s safe, happy and loved. What more could she ask for?

But when Dottie returns home to Brighton for a family celebration, the last person she expects to see is her first love; the boy who stole her heart… and broke it. Ralph Bennett.

As old familiar feelings come rushing to the surface, Dottie struggles to deny the strong chemistry that still exists between them. She can’t throw away everything to be with Ralph…can she? And if she does, how can they ever overcome the pain and tragedy of their shared past?

A beautiful, touching and heartbreaking story of love, loss and friendship. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Katie Flynn. ”

My thoughts:

I loved the first in the series-The Girls from SeeSaw Lane and was really pleased to get a copy of the second book in The Brighton Girls Trilogy.

Dottie starts the book living in London flat sharing with Polly and enjoying the single life. I loved their friendship and the easygoing nature of life in the city.

Once she has to move back home to Brighton we get to share in the lovely warm family around her- with the slightly irritating older sister. She finds somewhere new to live with a flamboyant landlady who rents her a top floor flat overlooking the sea. Rose is a lovely character with a colourful history and you can feel the people who share the house growing closer and more protective over each other. Rose has a heart of gold and sees Dottie through some rough times.

The characters are all so well drawn that you imagine yourself curling up in Rose’s ground floor apartment sharing stories with Stephen and Tristan.

The 60’s setting is really interesting with reference to the Beatles and the difficulties some members of society faced. Brighton sounds a wonderful place to be- I’ve only ever visited it in December when it’s fairly cold having a paddle!!!!!!! I fancy going to get some of their fish and chips and eating it on the sea front.

I love Sandy’s writing style, drawing you in and along with the story and I can’t wait for the conclusion to the trilogy.

With many thanks to Bookoutre and Net Galley for the chance to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s