The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox- Maggie O’Farrell

esme

I think this would be a 3.5 star for me. When I started I thought it would be a 4* read as I was quickly drawn in and enjoyed the story. Towards the mid point I was a little confused at times who was telling their part of the story.

Iris gets a phone call to say that a great aunt she never knew existed is being released from a former ‘asylum’ after 60 years. She offers to take the great aunt to a temporary home until her next place is ready. She’d read the hospital notes and couldn’t believe why her aunt had been committed. When she gets there she can’t leave her aunt there and takes her home.

Her grandmother is in a home suffering with dementia and she hasn’t seen her sister since she was committed.

The story unfurls told from three points of view- which I didn’t find easy to follow on kindle. We are left to make our own minds up about what happens. Overall I did enjoy the book- I just felt I’d have liked a bit more from it.

Leave a Reply

